You Are Here: Home » Sports » Locals headline USA Today’s High School All-USA Alabama team

Locals headline USA Today’s High School All-USA Alabama team

Locals headline USA Today’s High School All-USA Alabama team

By Damian Mitchell

Sports Editor

ALABAMA — USA TODAY High School Sports announced the 2018 American Family Insurance ALL-USA Alabama football team from the 2018-19 season.

Pinson Valley quarterback Bo Nix was selected as the first-team quarterback and also earned offensive player of the year honors for his 3,802 yards and 50 touchdowns while leading the Indians to their second straight Class 6A state championship.

Hewitt-Trussville offensive lineman Pierce Quick also earned first-team recognition for his work on the line. The University of Alabama signee joined fellow teammates offensive lineman Logan Self and Auburn signee receiver Ja’Varrius Johnson, who both earned second-team honors at their respective positions.

On the defensive side of the ball, Clay-Chalkville defensive lineman D.J. Dale earned first team honors. Pinson Valley defensive back Zo Williams also took second-team honors for the Indians.


OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Bo Nix, Pinson Valley (Pinson)

First Team

QB Bo Nix (6-3, 210, Sr.), Pinson Valley (Pinson)

RB Roydell Williams (5-10, 205, Jr.), Hueytown

RB Lee Witherspoon (6-0, 180, Sr.), North Jackson (Stevenson)

WR JJ Evans (6-2, 185, Jr.), Montevallo

WR George Pickens (6-3, 190, Sr.), Hoover

TE Michael Vice (6-4, 240, Sr.), Vestavia Hills (Birmingham)

OL Jaylen Childs (6-4, 290, Sr.), Saks (Anniston)

OL Javion Cohen (6-5, 275, Jr.), Central (Phenix City)

OL Amari Kight (6-6, 300, Sr.), Thompson (Alabaster)

OL Pierce Quick (6-5, 277, Sr.), Hewitt-Trussville (Trussville)

OL Clay Webb (6-4, 307, Sr.), Oxford

Second Team

QB Taulia Tagovailoa (6-0, 200, Sr.), Thompson (Alabaster)

RB Tony Amerson (5-11, 210, Sr.), St. James (Montgomery)

RB A’montae Spivey (6-1, 185, Sr.), Central (Phenix City)

WR Ja’Varrius Johnson (5-9, 170, Sr.), Hewitt-Trussville (Trussville)

WR AJ Toney (5-7, 176, Sr.), Jackson-Olin (Birmingham)

TE Kelshun Campbell (6-4, 225, Sr.), Park Crossing (Montgomery)

OL James Dawson (6-1, 282, Jr.), Opelika

OL Treveon Pickens (6-1, 285, Sr.), Jackson-Olin (Birmingham)

OL Logan Self (6-3, 265, Jr.), Hewitt-Trussville (Trussville)

OL Jayme Simmons (6-5, 270, Sr.), Thompson (Alabaster)

OL Adarius Tolliver (6-7, 333, Sr.), Autauga Academy (Prattville)


DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Vonta Bentley, Jackson-Olin (Birmingham)

First Team

DL DJ Dale (6-3, 323, Sr.), Clay-Chalkville (Pinson)

DL Tim Keenan (6-2, 285, So.), Ramsay (Birmingham)

DL Jayson Jones (6-7, 340, Jr.), Calera

DL Patrick Lucas (6-3, 290, Sr.), Wetumpka

LB Vonta Bentley (6-0, 220, Sr.), Jackson-Olin (Birmingham)

LB Jackson Bratton (6-3, 215, Jr.), Muscle Shoals

LB Mohamoud Diabate (6-4, 215, Sr.), Auburn

DB Trikweze Bridges (6-3, 175, Sr.), Lanett

DB Jaydon Hill (6-0, 174, Sr.), Bob Jones (Madison)

DB Ray Thornton (6-2, 200, Sr.), Central (Phenix City)

DB Christian Williams (6-1, 182, Sr.), Daphne

Second Team

DL LeDarrius Cox (6-4, 305, Sr.), McGill-Toolen (Mobile)

DL Daevion Davis (6-1, 315, Sr.), James Clemens (Madison)

DL Phillip Hopkins (6-4, 215, Jr.), Lee (Montgomery)

DL Bernard Miles (6-1, 235, Sr.), Central (Phenix City)

LB Demouy Kennedy (6-2, 204, Jr.), Theodore

LB Cameron Riley (6-4, 210, Jr.), Hillcrest (Evergreen)

LB Kendall McCallum (6-3, 230, Sr.), Oxford

DB Cordale Flott (6-1, 165, Sr.), Saraland

DB D.J. James (5-10, 175, Sr.), Spanish Fort

DB Reddy Steward (6-0, 165, Sr.), Austin (Decatur)

DB Zo Williams (6-0, 170, Jr.), Pinson Valley (Pinson)


K/P Will Reichard (6-1, 185, Sr.), Hoover

Scroll to top